Merry Christmas from Netherlands

A photo from the archives from Bert Van der helm who wishes all Swaythling Club members the very best for the festive season. Nieuwjaarswens-2024-SCI-1Download

Encouraging young players in Lesotho

Dr Chabale Mohatlane, a member of the Swaythling Club International has been very active in recent months coaching young players in Lesotho.

World Health Festival Proves Successful Initiative

Petra Sorling, ITTF President and member of the Swaythling Club International, addressed all present at the World Health Festival in in Heraklion, Crete. Staged from Wednesday 1st to Sunday 5th November the Swaythling Club International was a major supporter of the initiative. “The main objective of the Swaythling Club International since its creation in1967 is to help others; as it is difficult to help people individually, we decided tofinancially help research concerning diseases such as Alzheimer ‘s and Parkin-son’s. The opportunity was presented thanks to the efforts of the ITTF Founda-tion.” Claude Bergeret, Swaythling Club President. A most successful initiative. Read More...

Swiss Members Meet

Member of the Swiss branch of the Swaythling Club International held the 2023 Annual General Meeting on Saturday 25th November in Wettingen near Zurich. (left to right) Teresia Földy, Thomas Sadecky, Thomas Busin, Reto Bazzi, Claude Diethelm

Ilona Kerekes (1926-2023)

Ilona Kerekes It is with great sadness that the death of Hungary’s Ilona Kerekes has been advised. Born on Monday 25th October 1926, she passed away in October 2023. At the World Championships, playing under her maiden name Solyom; alongside Gizi Farkas, Rozsi Karpati and Ilona Király she was a member of the Hungarian outfit that won women's team silver in 1950 in Budapest. Four years later in 1954 in London, known as Kerekes, when joining forces with Gizi Farkas, Éva Kóczián and Agnes Simon, again the medal colour was silver. In addition, at the 1960 European Championships in Zagreb; she was a member of the gold medal winning women's team alongside Eva Koczian, Gizi Farkas, Sarolta Mathe and Livia Mossoczy. Later in the same tournament

Welcome, Ian Harrison

Ian Harrison in 1960 having won both men's singles and men's doubles titles at the English Open The Swaythling Club International is pleased to welcome Ian Harrison as its most recent member. A member of the England national team from 1955 to 1969, most notably at the 1960 English Open he secured the men's singles and the mixed doubles titles partnering Diane Rowe. Amongst many successes he won the men's singles title at the English National Championships in 1961 and 1967. Read: Table Tennis Times Autumn 2023: Pages 10 - 15

Joe Veselsky Celebrates 105th Birthday

A Slovakian group provided the entertainment. Founder member of the Swaythling Club in 1967, the most senior member of all, Ireland's Joe Veselsky celebrated his 105th birthday on Friday 20th October. Sweden's Hans Westling, who for many years was the organiser of the World Veteran Championships, and Joe Hickey, likewise a member of the Swaythling Club International, were present for the occasion. A group from Slovakia entertained with song and dance. Resident in a nursing home, Joe Veselsky was in typical good humour, welcoming all with open arms and a broad smile. Joe Hickey, Joe Veselsky and Hans Westling (Photo: courtesy of Hans Westling)

Petra Sörling, elected Member of International Olympic Committee

Petra Sörling, elected Member of International Olympic Committee

Member of the Swaythling Club International, Petra Sörling has been elected as a member of the International Olympic Committee. She is the first President of the International Table Tennis Federation to gain such a position. A full appraisal appears on the The newly elected members with centre, Thomas Bach, President of the International Olympic Committee (Photo: ITTF/IOC)

Swaythling Club Guest Players Named for Rome

Thierry Miller awarded a Swaythling Club place (Photo: ITTF)

Thierry Miller awarded one of the guest places (Photo: ITTF) The Swaythling Club International has named the guest players to compete in the ITTF World Masters Championships Rome 2024 from Saturday 6th to Sunday 14th July. As anticipated, we had a record number of applications for the ten places offered by the ITTF and the Local Organisers, this gave the Committee an extremely difficult task. After much deliberation, the decision was taken. Harvey Webb, Secretary, Swaythling Club International. The selected players: Katalina Gatinska (Bulgaria) Ibrahim Kamara (Sierra Leone) Jouko Manni (Finland) Aleksandar Matkovic (Serbia) Thierry Miller (Switzerland) James Morris (New Zealand) Denis Neale (England) Dusan Tigerman (Netherlands) Edit Urban (Germany) Liova Yosulevsky (Israel)