Mattias Falck wins Fair Play Award

Mattias Falck receives the Richard Bergmann Memorial Fair Play Award from Claude Bergeret, Swaythling Club secretary; Pongi looks on (Photo: Rémy Gros)

by Ian Marshall, Editor

A most unexpected runners up spot in the men’s singles event at the Liebherr 2019 World Championships in Budapest; in recognition of his efforts and the manner in which he conducted himself, Mattias Falck received the Richard Bergmann Memorial Fair Play Award when proceedings closed on Sunday 28th April.

Thus he became the fourth Swede to gain the accolade.

In the year when the Swaythling Club was founded, at the Stockholm 1967 World Championships, the honour was bestowed on Kjell Johansson. Later in 1973 in Sarajevo Stellan Bengtsson emerged the winner, before in 1993 in Gothenburg and 1997 in Manchester, the recipient was Jan-Ove Waldner.

Mattias Falck’s memorable journey

Tuesday 23rd April
Round One: v Adam Szudi (Hungary) 8-11, 11-8, 11-4, 11-5, 11-5
Round Two: v Robert Gardos (Austria) 11-5, 7-11, 11-6, 11-9, 5-11, 14-12

Wednesday 24th April
Round Three: v Tiago Apolonia (Portugal) 11-6, 11-4, 11-5, 11-8

Thursday 25th April
Round Four: v Lee Sangsu (Korea Republic) 11-13, 11-8, 11-8, 11-5, 11-6

Friday 26th April
Quarter-Final: v Simon Gauzy (France) 11-8, 11-13, 11-6, 11-3, 11-7

Saturday 27th April
Semi-Final: v An Jaehyun (Korea Republic) 8-11, 11-7, 3-11, 11-4, 11-9, 2-11, 11-5

Sunday 28th April
Final: v Ma Long (China) 5-11, 7-11, 11-7, 9-11, 5-11