Swaythling Club Awards Presented in Busan

Claude Bergeret alongside Fan Zhendong Proceedings concluding at the ITTF World Team Championships in Busan on Sunday 25th February, Claude Bergeret, President of the Swaythling Club International, presented the Victor Barna Trophy to Fan Zhendong, the Diane Schöler award to Sun Yingsha. The Victor Barna Best Player Memorial Award Donated by Suzy Barna in 1973, the memorial trophy was initiated to perpetuate the name of Victor Barna with the activities of the Swaythling Club International. At the time of his unexpected death in Peru in 1972, Victor Barna was the Founder President of the Club. The trophy is awarded to leading player at the World Team Championships. The Diane Schöler Memorial Award In memory of Diane Schöler, former President of the Swaythling Club International, the award

Swaythling Club Reception in Busan

All smiles from Claude Bergeret and members of the Korean Table Tennis Association. Zdenko Kriz, member of the Swaythling Club Executive Committee, had camera in hand to record a most convivial meeting.

Alan Hydes Reflects

Following the historic visit to China in 1972, always known as Ping Pong Diplomacy, Alan Hydes received an award from Prince Charles, now King Charles III

Björne Mellström (1933-2024)

Photo: Christian Heyerdahl A most valued and respected member of the Swaythling Club International, it is with great sadness the passing of Björne Mellström is announced. Born on Friday 10th March 1933, Björne Mellström passed away on Sunday 4th February, just a few days short of his 91st birthday. He won 16 gold medals at the Swedish Championships – five men’s team, five men’s singles, two men’s doubles and four mixed doubles. The leading Swedish player of the 1950s was Tage Flisberg, men’s singles runner up at the 1954 World Championships. In the men’s singles at the 1956 Swedish National Championships, Björne Mellström beat Flisberg in the semi-finals before repeating the feat in the 1957 and 1958 finals. Notably, Björne Mellström competed in six consecutive World