Joe Veselsky Celebrates 105th Birthday

A Slovakian group provided the entertainment. Founder member of the Swaythling Club in 1967, the most senior member of all, Ireland's Joe Veselsky celebrated his 105th birthday on Friday 20th October. Sweden's Hans Westling, who for many years was the organiser of the World Veteran Championships, and Joe Hickey, likewise a member of the Swaythling Club International, were present for the occasion. A group from Slovakia entertained with song and dance. Resident in a nursing home, Joe Veselsky was in typical good humour, welcoming all with open arms and a broad smile. Joe Hickey, Joe Veselsky and Hans Westling (Photo: courtesy of Hans Westling)

Petra Sörling, elected Member of International Olympic Committee

Petra Sörling, elected Member of International Olympic Committee

Member of the Swaythling Club International, Petra Sörling has been elected as a member of the International Olympic Committee. She is the first President of the International Table Tennis Federation to gain such a position. A full appraisal appears on the The newly elected members with centre, Thomas Bach, President of the International Olympic Committee (Photo: ITTF/IOC)

Swaythling Club Guest Players Named for Rome

Thierry Miller awarded a Swaythling Club place (Photo: ITTF)

Thierry Miller awarded one of the guest places (Photo: ITTF) The Swaythling Club International has named the guest players to compete in the ITTF World Masters Championships Rome 2024 from Saturday 6th to Sunday 14th July. As anticipated, we had a record number of applications for the ten places offered by the ITTF and the Local Organisers, this gave the Committee an extremely difficult task. After much deliberation, the decision was taken. Harvey Webb, Secretary, Swaythling Club International. The selected players: Katalina Gatinska (Bulgaria) Ibrahim Kamara (Sierra Leone) Jouko Manni (Finland) Aleksandar Matkovic (Serbia) Thierry Miller (Switzerland) James Morris (New Zealand) Denis Neale (England) Dusan Tigerman (Netherlands) Edit Urban (Germany) Liova Yosulevsky (Israel)