Once again Claude Bergeret, the first and only, elected President

Claude Bergeret returned unopposed (Photo: ITTF) The first and only French female player to strike gold at a World Championships, when she secured the mixed doubles title in partnership with the late Jacques Secretin in 1977 in Birmingham, on Saturday 11th December, there was another “first and only” for Claude Bergeret. She was elected President of the Swaythling Club International, at the organisation’s first and only Annual General Meeting to be held virtually. Furthermore, she becomes the first and only native of France to command the office. Notably, she succeeds Ebby Schöler and is the ninth to hold the office since Victor Barna was elected at the inaugural meeting in 1967. Later, in addition to Victor Barna and Ebby Schöler, Joe Veselsky, Zarko Dolinar, Johnny

Richard Bergmann Fair Play Trophy awarded to Lily Zhang

Zoran Primorac presents the Richard Bergmann Fair Play Trophy to Lily Zhang (Photo: Rémy Gros) Lily Zhang of the United States received the Richard Bergmann Fair Play Trophy at the 2021 ITTF World Championships Finals on Monday 29th November, the closing day of action in Houston. The decision was made by a specially convened group comprising Zoran Primorac (Athletes Commission), Arne Madsen (Media Committee), Gabor Felegyi (ITTF), Tina Crotta (Referee) and Reto Bazzi (Swaythling Club International). Following the proposal made by Tina Crotta, Lily Zhang received the award as a result of her consistent fair play behaviour.