A memorable tournament, memories were shared

Meeting at the Liebherr 2017 Men’s World Cup (left to right) Ebby Schöler, Frans Lanckman, Diane Schöler, Dominique Lohest, Marie-France Germiat and Pierre Juliens (Photo: courtesy of SCI Belgium)

by Ian Marshall, Editor

The Liebherr 2017 Men’s World Cup, which concluded in the Belgian city of Liège on Sunday 22nd October, was a tournament to remember, the defeat of China’s Ma Long, the reigning Olympic Games and World Champion; two European players in the final in the guise of Germany’s Dimitrij Ovtcharov and Timo Boll, the happenings will be talked about in years to come with great reverence.

Memories and there were those present at the three day tournament staged in the Belgian city of Liège, for whom it was time to remember; members of the Swaythling Club International.

Notably, Thomas Weikert, ITTF President, shared memories and was understandably delighted with the fact that two of his fellow countrymen contested the title deciding contest.

Likewise with the old continent very much to the fore, Ronald Kramer, the President of the European Table Tennis Union, shared pleasant memories and was able to look forward with more than a degree of optimism.

Also very much involved with matters, brothers Jean-Michel and Philippe Saive were present to reminisce, the latter being the man very much in high demand, his management company the organisation that made the event possible for the third time in the Belgian city.

Jean-Michel in his legendary sporting status in the country is always in demand to recall the day he beat Sweden’s Jan-Ove Waldner to win the Men’s Singles event at the European Championships in Birmingham or when in 2001, the brothers guided Belgium to the final of the Men’s Team event at the World Championships in Osaka.

All met Ebby Schöler, President of the Swaythling Club International and his wife Diane, the Honorary President, as did those from a period before the Saive brothers took the European country to totally new heights.

Frans Lanckman, Dominique Lohest, Marie-France Germiat and Pierre Juliens were all present.